The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Well hello there, I hope you have all had a very lovely start to the new year and are having a great day. I was thinking each month should have a theme in I should base my blog posts on. For the month January, I thought it would be fun to talk about my film favourite’s of all time (The Month of Current Favourites) from any year. Today, I am going to talk about a film I really like which is The Perks of being a Wallflower. Age Rating: 12

The Perks of Being A Wallflower.jpg

Charlie is portrayed by Logan Lerman who has also featured as the protagonist in the Percy Jackson films as well as this film. Ezra Miller plays the role of Patrick who recently has starred as Credence in Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them. Well known actress Emma Watson stars as Sam and features in Harry Potter as Hermione Granger. Mae Whitman as Mary Elizabeth, Erin Wilhelm as Alice, Melanie Lynksey as Aunt Helen and Nina Dobrev as Candace.

The Perks of being a Wallflower is a coming of age film (based on the novel written by Stephen Chbosky) about a boy, Charlie who is found upon to be an outsider, he’s not on the scale of popular to nerdy… he isn’t part of that type of society. This is because of trauma he faces in his past – which I personally believe is a spoiler if I tell you. However, majority of Charlie’s life he keeps to himself and cannot fit in, which explains why he sits alone at lunch and is very shy (the trailer illustrates this). He finds friends, Sam, Patrick, Mary Elizabeth and Alice who accept him and show him another side of life he has never seen before. He discovers the highs and hardships of friendship and learns how to combat it.

 

TPOBAW Christmas.jpg

The trailer I believe sums up the storyline however with Sam, I think that trailer gives away a bit too much information of her past which ruins the surprise and storyline in the slightest. I think they definitely gave away the right amount of information with Charlie as you see him wound in an abundance of motions which leaves viewers questioning why is Charlie feeling this way, why is he making a snow angel, why is he really scared and why is he crying? They definitely dropped subtle hints for patrick and I like how in the trailer a section from one of the letters in the book is used.

Stephen Chbosky the author of the novel, is also the director of the film. In my opinion, I believe this is interesting because the person who created the novel and created people’s thoughts and actions I believe has a real sense on how it should look in reality or on the screens. The author behind the book in my opinion really knows what to include and what to not include and they get the most significant parts and know what isn’t as necessary.

 

Sam, Charlie + Patrick.jpg

 

So I really love this film because it’s really eye-opening and gripping and there are so many themes and different storylines/issues in the film which kind of bring them closer and sometimes ruin their friendship. What I mean by this is that the three main characters (Sam, Patrick and Charlie) all have a difficult past and present and some problems they face are between each other (if you are a reader and have already watched the film, I think you will know what I mean). I love the comedy aspect to it as well and if I had to choose a character it would definitely be Patrick for sure because he is so funny. It is a 12 so I mean it’s not completely sad and depressing however a box of tissues beside you would definitely be ideal.

 

tumblr_nc19koFiWG1rx1uhuo1_400.gif

So that’s that for this week, I really hope you enjoyed this blog post and I hope for those that have never watched the film may watch it and really like it. Let me know what you thought of this blog post and the trailer is linked below for you to see it.

Have a great day and a great week, I shall see you soon
From FilmTrashh 🙂

P.S None of these photos belong to me, they are from the internet but I thought the blog would look better with pictures

The Perks of being a Wallflower Trailer

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Perks of Being a Wallflower

  1. TPOBAW was a fun watch. Better read for me though. They did I nice take on it though. And yeah, the things they included were necessary. Nice post! 😁

    Like

Leave a Reply

